Read rhino encounter reviews

You’ve loved going behind the scenes in Kifaru Reserve and meeting our rhinos. Just check out these amazing reviews!

Five star reviews

“I bought the rhino feeding experience as a gift for Xmas for my wife as it’s her favourite animal. All day she was worrying in case she was expecting too much and may be left disappointed. As it turned out she was overjoyed as it was better than she had anticipated and in her own words it was…’wow I’m speechless’. Already planning return to see the baby early next year.” – Matthew Rudd, Cardiff, 26 September 2019, 5 stars
“Exceeded all expectations! We were lucky to meet all three rhino and Alan the head keeper. Dakima, Manyara and Nkosi were happy to feed from us and allowed us a tickle. Alan was very friendly, very knowledgeable and a credit to Folly Farm. He told us about the beautiful animals and showed us around the rhino house which was spotlessly clean. Highly recommend this experience a memory lasting forever.” – Victoria Landeg, RCT, 08 September 2019, 5 stars
“A great experience. I have now done 3 of the 4 experiences. As with all the others I have learned such a lot regarding the rhinos and have a better appreciation for their life. The zoo keeper was able to inform and answer all my questions. With only the penguin experience to complete the set I look forward to a return in the near future, with a purchase of an annual pass.” – Rory Houston, Llanelli, 29 August 2019, 5 stars 
“I arrived at Folly Farm to be surprised with a rhino experience from my mum. It really was the best experience as rhinos are my favourite animal and I didn’t even know it was possible to get that close to the rhinos. The keeper who gave this experience was amazing, it was very clear how passionate he was about rhinos. He was so friendly and easy to talk to. Thank you so much, I loved it.” – Natasha McAnulty, Northamptonshire, 23 August 2019, 5 stars
“A fantastic, once-in-a-lifetime experience with a very knowledgeable, committed keeper. This was well worth the money, we learnt so much and could even tell the different personalities of the rhinos by the end of it. This is the perfect gift for someone! Well done Folly Farm!” – Tracey Pugh, Abergavenny, 19 August 2019, 5 stars
“We had a wonderful time doing the rhino experience. We enjoyed talking with the keeper, she was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. We absolutely loved getting to feed and pet the rhinos. It was the highlight of the trip for us, and we can’t wait to go back!” – Sarah Rodriguez, UK, 18 August 2019, 5 stars
“My son got to meet and feed the rhinos yesterday. This experience was exceptional. To come so close to such a forceful looking animal and seeing their softer side was fantastic. We were shown around the experience by Rachel and her enthusiasm shone through. We never felt rushed through the experience and actually left feeling we were given more than expected. Highly recommended. 10 out of 10.” – Katie Parker, Saundersfoot, 16 August 2019, 5 stars
“All I can say is amazing to be that close to these beautiful animals and to feed them. The rhino keeper was informative and for me it was a dream come true. Fantastic day.” – Dawn Satchell, Hertfordshire, 14 August 2019, 5 stars
“We had the most fantastic experience with the rhinos and the keeper. The keeper was very friendly, gave us lots of information and his love for the animals poured out of him. This was a special gift for my husband and son and they had the most amazing time. We would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone…thank you for such a perfect experience and making some dreams come true.” – Jodie Ward, Bridgend, 05 August 2019, 5 stars
“Fantastic experience for my 10 yr old son Garth. He has always loved rhinos so to get close up and personal with three of them totally made his year. Thank you for the opportunity.”  –  Kirstie Pritchard, Hirwaun, 04 August 2019, 5 stars
“Absolutely the best thing I did this Summer holidays, can’t wait to go back and do another experience.” – Ethan Newman, Swansea, 29 July 2019, 5 stars
“Bought as a gift, would highly recommend this experience.” – Kirsty Davies, Brecon, 26 July 2019, 5 stars
“My son thoroughly enjoyed his feeding experience, the keeper gave an excellent talk and was well worth the money.” – Stephen Williams, Neath, 23 July 2019, 5 stars
“It was a Christmas present for my daughter who is 11 and I was an accompanying adult so it was even better that we both got to experience it. And what an experience it was. I didn’t realise how close we would be allowed and the keeper was very knowledgeable. Can’t recommend the experience or the zoo enough.” – Beccy Phillips, Bristol, 18 July 2019, 5 stars
“Great day out. Keeper really good, made the day with her knowledge and comments. Giraffes next hopefully!” – Colin James, Carmarthen, 07 July 2019, 5 stars
“My daughter celebrated her 10th birthday with you and she did the giraffe and rhino experience. We did enjoy feeding the giraffes but I have to say that the rhino experience was excellent. Jack who looks after the rhinos made the session extremely informative. You could tell he loves his job and really enjoys spending time with the animals. He is a credit to Folly Farm.” – Katie Jones Pruett, Pontypridd, 05 July 2019, 5 stars
“My other half and I had an absolutely amazing time feeding the Rhinos. Rachel the keeper was so friendly and informative. Was a perfect addition to our first trip to South Wales. Such amazing animals so gentle and full of personality, was great fun to get to feed and pet them. Will most likely come back the new baby is born.” – Tim McNulty, Nottingham, 12 June 2019, 5 stars
“It’s not every day you get to meet a rhino, but three in one go? I’m still on cloud nine days after and cannot wait to have another experience. Jack the keeper made my time even better, he answered any silly questions I might have had and gave a wonderful insight to his job and to the rhino themselves. It takes a lot to really impress me and feeding and stroking three rhino was just incredible.” – Stacey West, Llandarcy, 31 May 2019, 5 stars
“I had the rhino experience as a Christmas present from my family and it was amazing from start to finish. Being close to these incredible animals,touching and feeding them was a real privilege. The keeper obviously loves her job and the animals and talked enthusiastically about them. I learned a lot. This is not a once in a lifetime experience as I am saving to do it again.” – Susan Pinkney, Pembrokeshire, 22 May 2019, 5 stars
“I purchased the rhino experience for myself and my boyfriend, the experience was incredible! The rhinos were amazing! It was great seeing them up close, being able to feed them and pet them, one of the rhinos even let us rub his belly! So adorable! Jack was very informative, we learnt so many interesting facts. I would definitely recommend this experience! Worth every penny!” – Jasmine V, Cardiff, 10 May 2019, 5 stars
“My wife bought me the rhino visit as a Christmas present and it was amazing, the keeper knew so much and was super informative, the rhinos themselves were adorable, with distinct personalities that I loved meeting and touching. I was a bit sad there was a fence in the way until Dakima charged it, then I was very glad it was there!” – Mick Green, Newport, 21 April 2019, 5 stars
“The experience was awesome. I really enjoyed myself. I would consider doing it again and recommend anyone else to take part. Great opportunity to get up close and touch a rhino.” –  Nicole Vince, Machynlleth, 12 April 2019, 5 stars
“Would 100% recommend to anyone looking to do the experience, will definitely remember this day! Jack was amazing answered all our questions, was very down to earth and had a lot of knowledge and passion about the animals that he cared for. After meeting Jack and the rhinos today we would definitely come back to do another rhino experience, the rhinos were very happy and well cared for.” – Chelsee Williams, Port Talbot, 02 April 2019, 5 stars
“Wow. What an amazing experience. Absolutely thrilled to get up close to the rhinos today. What gentle giants they are! Fantastic to learn so much about them from keeper Rachael. I won this experience as a Mother’s Day gift (thank you Folly Farm) and what a fantastic way to spend the day! Will definitely be looking at booking another experience with the other animals.” – Kathryn Saunders, Swansea, 31 March 2019, 5 stars
“Myself and my wife booked to do the lion and rhino experiences it was a great day made all the better by the staff who could not do enough for us.” – Nick Birtles, Cardigan, 18 March 2019, 5 stars
“It was superb. Keeper Jack was friendly, kind and informative. To get up close to not just one but two of these awesome animals is beyond words. Don’t think about it, do it.” – Christine Hewitt, Solihull, 09 October 2018, 5 stars
“Had a fantastic time. I would recommend to all and have. The Rhino keeper was great, thoroughly professional, knowledgeable and obviously had a great care for the animals. Put another visit on my Christmas list already.” – Byron Smith, Merthyr Tydfil, 25 September 2018, 5 stars
“Fantastic birthday present. The rhinos are my favourite animals at Folly Farm so feeding the two females was awesome. Jack the keeper was very knowledgeable and the tour of the rhino house was very interesting. Jack was very good in ensuring the animals and myself were comfortable.To be so close to these wonderful animals was a privilege I will remember for many years to come.” – Ian White, Caerphilly, 05 September 2018, 5 stars
“I recently did a rhino experience at Folly Farm. Fantastic information and interesting too.” – Gill Cook, 01 September 2018, 5 stars
“Had the best experience the rhinos were both really interested in taking the food from us which gave us an amazing experience. Jack the keeper was informative and we had a brilliant time, rhino feeding now up there with giraffe feeding, I can’t pick a favourite 💕 🦏” – Cassie Farmer, Leicester, 22 August 2018, 5 stars
This visitor just left a rating – Anna Besley, Derbyshire, 20 August 2018, 5 stars
“What an excellent experience! Rachel and Pippa were fab hosts, so knowledgeable and keen to explain answers to every question. Maya thoroughly enjoyed her time with the rhinos. Would highly recommend to others.” – Maya Le Page, Guernsey, 01 August 2018, 5 stars
“I have been obsessed with rhinos for years! Never did I dream of actually getting up close and personal with one – let alone 3! Jack the keeper was amazing and answered every question I had. He was patient and could see how much I loved spending time with these amazing animals. Thank you so much Folly Farm and my sister Nia for honestly the most incredible experience of my life!” – Lowri Kemp, Cardiff, 06 July 2018, 5 stars
“It was one of the best experiences I have ever had. The keeper, Jack was very friendly and explained the behaviour of the Rhinoceros, how they act and their diet and informed me of their endangered status. The rhinos themselves were brilliant with their own personalities and touching them and feeding them was something I will never forget.” – Ryan Harrison, Burry Port, 21 June 2018, 5 stars
“My daughter, Teagan, took part in the rhino experience for her 13th birthday. She had a wonderful time learning about these critically endangered eastern black rhinos, and the keeper, Jack, was most informative and clearly passionate about the animals in his care. I would definitely recommend the rhino experience as an unusual gift to anyone!” – Sian Etheridge, Beddau, 08 June 2018, 5 stars
“What a pleasure to see your three rhinos respond and interact with their keeper Jack and, consequently, my son and myself. The long travel from BC was well rewarded by this experience – appreciation for these magnificent animals and their contribution to our world has been greatly enhanced.” – Larry Jones, Canada, 30 April 2018, 5 stars
“Top notch. The animals were amazing. The fellow that did the experience, I think his name was Jack, was great. Very patient, and knowledgeable and you could tell he cared a lot about what he was doing. The other staff we interacted with on the way to get there were all super friendly and helpful as well.” – Perry Jones, Canada, 30 April 2018, 5 stars
“An excellent day out at Folly Farm, amazing to get to feed and stroke Dakima and Manyara. It was a privilege to be able to get so close to such incredible creatures. Well done Folly Farm for contributing to such important conservation work.” – Alison Evans, 27 April 2018, 5 stars
“Excellent Rhino experience! The keeper was so helpful shared so much insight into how the Rhino lives, all the questions the girls had about Rhinos he was excellent. A truly memorable experience.” – Sarah Hitchin, 01 April 2018, 5 stars
“A wonderful experience. My husband and step daughter took part in this for his birthday and both absolutely loved it! The animals are well kept and happy, their welfare is clearly everybody’s number one priority. The keeper, Rachel who looked after them was both friendly and knowledgeable.” – Stephanie Curtis, 24 March 2018, 5 stars
“I got bought the experience for my birthday and it was amazing getting up close to such gentle giants who love a carrot! The zoo keeper’s passion for his job and love of the animals came through in the discussion we had. Definitely an experience I will never forget :)” – Jess Thomas, Bracknell, 20 February 2018, 5 stars
“Absolutely amazing – was so brilliant to touch, feed and stroke the rhinos and it shows you how they’re just like any other animal but just very large, special and endangered! I loved feeding them and they licking my hand and sat down for scratches.” – Sophie Butcher, 19 February 2018, 5 stars
“Breathtaking!!! Such beautiful animals and wonderful to see so close and feed. The keeper was so informative and patient whilst I asked sooooo many questions. Fabulous experience.” – Suzanne Taylor, Greater Manchester, 23 July 2017, 5 stars
“My son had an absolutely amazing experience hand feeding the Rhinos at Folly Farm. We traveled from Essex just so he could do this. The keepers were so friendly and full of advice about these wonderful animals, it really is an experience Aaron will not forget.” – Robyn Berry, 09 July 2017, 5 stars