Read rhino encounter reviews

Five star reviews

"My girlfriend and I went for her 21st and we had a great time. Natasha, who looked after us, was very informative and made sure we enjoyed ourselves."

Joseph Hunt, Bath, 23 March 2024

"I was the only person on the rhino experience so I had all three rhinos and a big bucket of carrots all to myself. Feeding these gentle giants was absolutely incredible and a real privilege. Calum (their keeper) was incredibly knowledgeable and really easy to chat to. A huge thank you to Calum and the three beautiful rhinos for a fantastic afternoon."

Sue Gratten, Slough, 17 March 2024

"This is an absolute must have experience. We booked it last minute on a whim and had the most amazing time. Exceptional knowledge from the keeper and it was incredible to be so close to these magnificent rhinos having a one on one experience giving them scratches and snacks! If you decide to book I can guarantee you will not be disappointed!"

Stephanie Powell, Carmarthen, 02 March 2024

"Wonderful experience to get close to these amazing creatures. The zoo keeper was able to show and bring out the different personalities in each of the 3 rhino. Would definitely recommend to anyone young or old. This was bought as a present for a birthday and had a true wow factor. So much better than standing at a distance."

Gregory Eardley, Wrexham, 26 February 2024

"INCREDIBLE! Truly amazing experience, the keeper we had was so friendly and knowledgeable, great to chat with her about all things Rhino! Being able to feed these amazing animals and then give one side rubs really was a once in a lifetime experience! We'll definitely be booking another experience in the future!"

Heather Hanson, Rhondda Cynon Taff, 17 February 2024

"First of all it was a privilege to get close to these magnificent animals, Harry was informative and friendly and made the experience enjoyable was a truly enjoyable experience keep up the good work and thank you."

Gary Foster, Oldham, 12 February 2024

"Had the best rhino experience at Folly Farm! Meg the keeper was great, super knowledgeable and really welcoming. Answered all our questions and made it an amazing experience! It was a privilege to get to meet and hand feed your crash!"

Matthew Melia, Manchester, 06 January 2024

"We had a wonderful experience feeding the rhinos. Natasha was fantastic and very informative. Cannot recommend this experience enough to anyone who loves rhinos as much as us."

Alex Thomas, Leicestershire, 23 December 2023

"Very friendly keeper. Good facts about rhinos."

Jemma Strudley, Narberth, 27 November 2023

"Amazing experience. My 10 year old was nervous to start with but Natasha soon put him at ease and he had a wonderful time feeding the rhinos."

Caroline Pulham, Carmarthenshire, 12 November 2023

"Fantastic experience, my two kids loved meeting the rhinos. Would definitely return for another experience. My daughter loved the rhino teddy bear that was gifted to her by your zoo keeper, she has named it Dakima after her favourite rhino. Thank You."

Natasha Johnstone, Kilbirnie, 18 October 2023

"I was lucky enough to be bought the experience my 30th. It was amazing from start to finish, the rhino keeper was knowledgable and answered my questions. He explained how the rhinos are cared for, about enrichment and poaching. The rhinos were amazing, we met them and the baby! We had the pleasure of feeding and brushing them. We felt blessed to be so close to such beautiful creatures. Thank you."

Chloe Shaw-Blake, Cwmbran, 15 October 2023

"This was the most amazingly special experience we have ever had. Our rhino keeper Kim was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and enabling. To get to feed and touch the rhinos was so excellent. We will remember this experience forever. Thank you."

Jo Smith, Royston , 28 September 2023

"Excellent experience. The gentleman who looked after us was very knowledgeable, very approachable. I was the only one in the experience that day, so was very fortunate to have one to one. Exceeded expectations. Amazing experience. I would do it again."

Melanie Lewis, Cardiff, 24 September 2023

"5 stars would recommend to anyone and definitely worth the journey. It was so refreshing to see animals actually being cared for and protected. The rhinos love their human interactions which was just beautiful to see and the bond between staff and animals is just so evident."

Rachael Riley, Berkeley , 23 September 2023

"Absolutely amazing experience and would highly recommend to anyone! Natasha was great, really friendly and fantastic rhino knowledge. Thank you."

Ray Johns, North Yorkshire , 14 September 2023

"My rhino experience was amazing, the rhinos were very chilled and a joy to feed and scritch. Harry the keeper was very friendly and knowledgeable, he answered all questions and explained behaviors and individual traits of the rhinos. I would happily recommend this experience to others."

Sarah Short-Edwards, Wellingborough , 05 September 2023

"It was absolutely fantastic. Natasha was a brilliant guide, very informative and fun but clearly extremely passionate about her work. We won't forget this for some time!"

Rory Clark, Swansea , 02 September 2023

"We thoroughly enjoyed the rhino experience from beginning to end. The keeper, Pippa, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and answered all of our many questions in detail. She clearly had great passion for her work and love for the animals. Words cannot explain how amazing it was to get so close to these magnificent creatures. It was incredible and we cannot recommend it highly enough!"

Joanna Murray, Maesteg , 22 August 2023

"Amazing. Would definitely recommend and Natasha was great."

David Rolls, Cardiff , 21 August 2023

"Absolutely loved it and Natasha was amazing."

Laura Rolls, Cardiff , 21 August 2023

"Our rhino feeding experience was amazing! The keeper, Harry was excellent, really friendly and put us both at ease, especially my daughter who was nervous. The rhinos are such lovely, calm animals, and we were so lucky to be able to touch them and learn so much about them. We now love rhinos and would definitely do this again."

Vicki Vass, Oxfordshire , 20 August 2023

"This was for my son Ty's 14th birthday he absolutely loved this personal experience. The rhino are so beautiful and huge but never did we believe to be so close to these huge animals and feed them and get them to sit and lie down to tickle and stroke them these are beautiful animals. Ty loved the interaction feeding carrots to them also their skin was like velvet and he got to stroke their noses."

Ty Wyton, Stoke-on-Trent, 14 August 2023

"Excellent experience. Harry was very friendly and knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the rhinos. Would definitely recommend."

Layla Brindley, Ross-on-Wye , 03 August 2023

"We’ve done animal experiences at other locations however this surpassed all of them. It was absolutely amazing! We loved meeting the rhinos and hand feeding them carrots. We couldn’t believe how gentle they were and how much they liked being fussed. Harry’s knowledge was excellent. We loved going into the rhino house, just the two of us, with the rhinos and Harry. This was truly special!"

Debbie Fisher, Worcestershire , 28 July 2023

"It was brilliant. The keeper Dan was really lovely so informative. The whole experience was way better than I thought it would be, also went on for longer which was brilliant. £130 for 20 minutes is not good value for money but he went over that. We're glad he did he was lovely and made it a brilliant day."

Bobbieleigh Jones, Swansea , 15 July 2023

"Had a great time on the experience. I didn't think we would get to so close to the rhinos even though they were in their pen. Pippa was really nice and gave us lots of info about the rhinos. She answered any questions we had. I have recently gained a HNC Animal Care and this is the career I am interested I pursuing, to get behind the scenes was great. Will do another experience at Folly Farm."

Elis Kelland, Rhonnda Cynon Taff , 12 July 2023

"It was fantastic meeting the rhinos up close. They are so gentle and really cute up close too. I got to feed them carrots and the keeper answered all my questions and was really interesting to talk to."

Rhianna Rees, Worcester , 11 July 2023

"Amazing experience with such wonderful creatures, each had their own personality which shone through. Keeper was so knowledgeable and gave us lots of interesting information about the rhinos. They were so gentle during the feeding and surprisingly their skin was super soft to stroke. Cannot recommend this experience enough. A day we'll never forget. Thank you."

Rhiannon Kenwrick, Newport , 29 June 2023

"Thanks to keeper Tom for a very informative experience feeding the rhinos. It was fantastic to be so close to such an amazing animal. Found out loads of facts and sad to hear it wasn't as popular as other experiences, people are missing out, it was magnificent."

Sallie Fawcett, Doncaster , 22 June 2023

"It was an excellent experience. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, kind and very helpful."

David Hewitt, Solihull , 11 June 2023

"What an incredible experience, better than could have expected. Tom our guide was very insightful and happy to answer all the questions demonstrating a great knowledge. He has very good personal skills and never made you feel like there was a time limit or anything was too much trouble. Being so close to the rhinos was amazing and in a more secluded section made it more personal. Highly recommend."

Robert Price, Bridgend , 27 May 2023

"We had a great time, keeper very knowledgeable and passionate about the rhinos he looked after. Was sad to hear it's not as popular an experience and would 100% recommend seeing these awesome animals."

Harriet Childs, Leicestershire , 06 May 2023

"Feeding the rhinos was a wonderful experience. To get so close to these wonderful animals was heart warming, and to see their temperaments and personalities was a privilege. The keeper was knowledgeable and happily answered all of my questions and provided lots of information about the four rhinos. I would make it a weekly event if I could."

Sian Channon, Swansea , 01 May 2023

"Wow! What an experience. The keeper was excellent. Very knowledgeable about the rhinos. Getting up close and personal with the rhinos was amazing. Was fantastic to be able to feed them the carrots. Thank you so much for a wonderful time. We will be back soon."

Tom and Rachel Scott, Boradhaven , 23 April 2023

"Absolutely incredible experience for my sister who adores the rhinos! Zookeeper Pippa was lovely and very supportive of my sister who has cerebral palsy. Georgia was smiling from ear to ear all day! If there is anyone debating this experience please book it."

Kelle Parsons, Port Talbot , 07 April 2023

"Wow what an experience! We bought this experience for our 12 and 10 year olds and left it as a surprise until it was feeding time. Their faces were a picture, they were able to get up very close and touch the rhino which they and the rhinos seemed to enjoy. Myself and the children were able to ask lots of questions and wasn't rushed with the experience. Definitely worth doing, already looking at the next."

Sophi Forrest, Milford Haven , 02 April 2023

"The keeper was very informative and gave great instructions on what we had to do. As it was just the two of us, we had great hands on experience and she gave brilliant information on the rhinos."

Emily Davies, Hampshire, 21 March 2023

"Absolutely brilliant experience. The staff member Natasha was kind, friendly and enthusiastic about her work and working with the rhinos. It was educational and informative and we learned a lot about rhinos in general as well as learning a lot about the rhinos they have at Folly Farm. We were able to feed the rhinos carrots with our hands and touch them, such an incredible experience."

Jodie Stickland, Swansea , 17 March 2023

"Amazing to get so close to these stunning and beautiful animals. They are so gentle but powerful a real treat to visit them."

Valda Brown, Haverfordwest , 15 March 2023

"We were so pleased with how the whole rhino experience went, Meg was just fantastic in her knowledge and was so polite and helpful she made our time there such a truly wonderful day, it will stay with us forever."

Peter McCabe, Haverfordwest , 14 March 2023

"Today our son had the best day ever. The rhino experience was out of this world and we feel a special mention is needed for zookeeper Meg. She was patient, calm, extremely knowledgeable and just simply brilliant. We cannot thank her enough for making the experience so special. He will never forget this, and neither will we. It really was amazing. Thank you Meg!"

Tomos Owen, Llanelli , 23 February 2023

"Wow what an experience, bought for my husband's 40th as rhinos are his favourite! The experience was epic! Couldn’t fault it."

Jo Davies, Gloucestershire, 01 November 2022

"Wow what an experience! Booked for my partner as rhinos are his favourite animal, trust me they’re mine now too! We got to feed them and give them a good scratch!! Dylan was so knowledgeable about the animals and you could really sense his passion, can’t wait to come back to Folly Farm for another experience."

Freya Groom, Cardiff, 22 October 2022

"Just everyone at Folly Farm keep doing what you're doing and nothing needs to be changed."

Louise Davies, Cardiff, 05 October 2022

"What a wonderful experience! It was bought for my ten year old autistic son (high functioning) and my girlfriend. They absolutely loved it! From the second the gate opened the keeper smiled at us, she was so friendly and was incredibly patient with my son's repetitive questions. We felt that she really wanted us to have the best time and we did! Thank you."

Lisa Bailey, Cardiff, 19 September 2022

"I have always loved rhinos, so to be able to get up close and feed them and give them a scratch and a smooth was amazing. Dylan the keeper was great and answered all my questions, it's clear to see how much they are loved. It's made me even more sure I want to work for rhino conservation in the future. It was truly the best day of my life."

Eleri Jones, Bedlinog, 22 August 2022

"I surprised my boyfriend with the rhino experience for his birthday. He loved it and we both thought it was amazing. The keeper Dylan was very kind and knowledgeable about the rhinos. We had an amazing time."

Abbie Olsen, Beddau, 20 August 2022

"Amazing experience, far better than my expectations to be so close to these amazing endangered animals! It was our anniversary and my husband's 50th birthday and Dylan the keeper was outstanding. He went out of his way to make the experience very special and so interesting giving us so much information in an entertaining mannera A memory we will never forget!"

Rhian Pratt, Merthyr Tydfil, 09 August 2022

"I was really looking forward to the rhino experience and it was even better then I could have hoped. Rachel was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and great to be around. I asked a lot of questions and she answered all of them and seemed really happy to. She took some amazing photos as well with was nice for us to look back on. The animals were incredible, I would happily travel to do it again."

Mia Wright, Wolverhampton, 05 August 2022

"The children had a fabulous time, feeding the rhinos. Callum the keeper was brilliant, explaining everything to the children. His knowledge of the rhinos was excellent and he answered all their questions. An added bonus at the end were the cuddly toy rhinos which the children loved. Would highly recommend this experience."

Rhiannon Lockyer, Ireland, 03 August 2022

"Big thank you to Rachel for an amazing giraffe experience. My daughter and I love feeding the giraffes. We have done it every year for my daughter's birthday since she turned 8. I think it's become a birthday tradition! It was so nice to meet Rudi up close and to learn about the giraffes again."

Amy Lewis, Milford Haven , 28 July 2022

"Absolutely amazing experience, bought for my son's 10th birthday and he had the most amazing time! It was the most incredible experience and the keeper was so knowledgeable and explained everything so well to my son. So friendly and happy. The rhinos of course the main reason for the visit, were just amazing! So interesting and funny too. Especially mum Dakima with baby Glyn!"

Emma Roach, Pembrokeshire, 25 July 2022

"My son had an incredible rhino experience. The keeper was fantastic, really informative, friendly and patient. Being so close to these incredible anaimals was an absolute privilege, and I was just the photographer. Thank you."

Kara Glen, Bucks, 31 May 2022

"As a last minute booking, we were well impressed with the whole rhino feeding experience. We met with the keeper who was really nice and friendly. Meeting all the rhinos face to face is something we will never forget. Best day ever."

Janine carran, Barry, 22 May 2022

"An amazing experience for my daughter and her bestie! A brilliant way to educate people about these wonderful animals and a rare chance to get up close to them. A big shout out to the keeper, who has a genuine passion for the rhinos."

Emma Radcliffe, Bridgend, 30 April 2022

"Absolutely amazing. I had a wonderful time. I learnt so much from the keeper about the rhino."

Janine Hillman, Bridgend, 26 April 2022

"An amazing experience for my daughter and her bestie! A brilliant way to educate people about these wonderful animals and rare chance to get up close to them. A big shout out to the keeper, who has a genuine passion for the rhino's"

Emma Radcliffe, Bridgend, 20 April 2022

"We came for a holiday and this was something we booked on the Monday we came. The farm was amazing and there was so much to see and do. The rhino experience was by far the best ever. We got to see the rhinos, feed them, touch them and learn all about them. The keeper who was with us was fantastic and she said that it was her second experience on her own and she was amazing. I would highly recommend."

Grace Norris, Tamworth, 05 April 2022

"Wow! We had the experience for two for my husband's 50th. Wonderful animals, hand fed them carrots, stroked their cheeks, honestly the most memorable day keeper was super friendly and extremely knowledgeable too."

Louise Clatworthy, Llanelli, 21 March 2022

"Our rhino experience was fantastic. The animals were beautiful, characterful and engaging and the keepers were very knowledgeable and immensely patient answering our many questions. We learnt a lot about the behaviour and relationships between the individual rhinos and also about the national breeding programme, which was fascinating. Loved our experience more than words can accurately convey."

Eleonora Aardvark-Graham, Leicester, 16 March 2022

"I booked the rhino feeding experience for my partner’s birthday. Thankfully she loved it! We both did. Dylan the rhino keeper was very informative and easy to speak with. It was lovely to see how he interacted with the rhinos and is obviously very good at his job. He answered all our questions and didn’t rush us out. It was super fun getting to know these gentle animals up close."

Linda Gardner, Haverfordwest, 13 February 2022

"Absolutely amazing. The keeper was incredible he knew so much about the rhinos, answered every question we had, he was super friendly and amazing with our daughter. Really incredible experience would love to do it again. Absolutely amazing truly incredible experience worth every penny, would love to do it again."

Victoria Boland, Swansea, 30 January 2022

"We had a fantastic experience feeding three of the four rhinos. After sponsoring a rhino for Christmas it seemed a great idea to visit and feed them too. We booked the experience and had a fantastic time. The keeper answered all our questions and was so helpful. We loved every moment. Thank you."

Stuart Barrow, Vale of Glamorgan, 29 January 2022

"What an amazing experience this was, thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The keeper explained the process and was very informative and pleasant all the way through. Got to feed and stroke the rhinos like they were horses, still on a high about it a week later. Thank you Folly Farm for an unforgettable experience."

Sally Yelland, Haverfordwest, 21 October 2021

"Really enjoyable. The rhinos were so cute, my favourite animals, it was really interesting. I got to meet Glyndwr, the first rhino born in Wales, and his mother and father and the rhino Manny. I got to feed them leaves and carrots. Manny loved the carrots then at the end I got a cuddly rhino which I called Manny. It was extremely fun, definitely good for a birthday present."

Daniel Webb, Pembrey, 11 August 2021

"I bought this experience for my son for his 10th birthday and it didn’t disappoint. Jack, the keeper was very engaging, knowledgeable and patient with his younger visitor. Getting up close to all the rhinos, feeding them and petting them is an experience my son and I won’t forget. I can’t recommend this highly enough."

Tracey James, Cardiff, 14 June 2021

"We had such an amazing time yesterday. Our 11 year old and 13 year old just adored meeting and feeding the rhinos and were lucky enough to meet the whole herd, including the super cute baby Glyndwr. The keeper (Callum) was fantastic, patient and full of information. We felt so welcome and special to be able to go behind the scenes. I cannot recommend the experience highly enough!"

Debi Edmunds, Brynamman, 22 May 2021

"This was the most amazing animal experience I’ve been fortunate to do. The talk was not only educational but it was a real privilege to be up so close and have contact with these truly beautiful and lovely rhinos. I would wholeheartedly recommend if you have the opportunity. A special treat for a voucher purchased in lockdown I would like to say thanks again to all involved dream come true!"

Lisa McGee, Maesteg, 09 May 2021

"My nieces loved the rhino experience. The keepers Jack and Callum were fantastic. Being able to get so close to them and the keepers answering our questions and we learnt a lot and it was very interesting. Best of all was being able to feed them and especially baby Glyn."

Trina Rees, Neath, 01 May 2021

"I bought the rhino feeding experience as a gift for Christmas for the wife as it’s her favourite animal. All day she was worrying in case she was expecting too much and may be left disappointed. As it turned out she was overjoyed as it was better than she had anticipated and in her own words..."wow I’m speechless". Already planning to return to see the baby early next year."

Matthew Rudd, Cardiff, 05 October 2019

"Exceeded all expectations! We were lucky to meet all three rhino and Alan the head keeper. Dakima, Manyara and Nkosi were happy to feed from us and allowed us a tickle. Alan was very friendly very knowledgeable and a credit to Folly Farm. He told us about the beautiful animals and showed us around the rhino house which was spotlessly clean. Highly recommend this experience a memory lasting forever."

Victoria Landeg, RCT, 17 September 2019

"A great experience as I have now done three of the four experiences. As with all the others, I have learned such a lot and have a better appreciation for their life. The zoo keeper was able to inform and answer all my questions. With only the penguin experience to complete the set I look forward to a return in the near future."

Rory Houston, Llanelli, 07 September 2019

"I arrived at Folly Farm to be suprised with a rhino experience from my mum. It really was the best experience as rhinos are my favourite animal and I didn't even know it was possible to get that close to the rhinos. The keeper was amazing, it was very clear how passionate he was about rhinos. He was so friendly and easy to talk to. Thank you so much, I loved it."

Natasha McAnulty, Northamptonshire, 01 September 2019

"A fantastic, once in a lifetime experience with a very knowledgeable, committed keeper. This was well worth the money. We learnt so much and could even tell the different personalities of the rhinos by the end of it. This is the perfect gift for someone. Well done Folly Farm!"

Tracey Pugh, Abergavenny, 28 August 2019

"We had a wonderful time doing the rhino experience. We enjoyed talking with the keeper, she was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. We absolutely loved getting to feed and pet the rhinos. It was the highlight of the trip for us, and we can’t wait to go back!"

Sarah Rodriguez, UK, 27 August 2019

"My son got to meet and feed the rhinos yesterday. This experience was exceptional. To come so close to such a forceful looking animal and seeing their softer side was fantastic. We were shown around the experience by Rachel and her enthusiasm shone through. We never felt rushed through the experience and actually left feeling we were given more than expected. Highly recommended. 10 out of 10."

Katie Parker, Saundersfoot, 25 August 2019

"All I can say is amazing to be that close to these beautiful animals and to feed them the rhino keeper was informative and for me it was a dream come true. Fantastic day."

Dawn Satchell, Hertfordshire, 23 August 2019

"Great day out. Keeper really good, made the day with her knowledge and comments. Giraffes next hopefully!"

Colin James, Carmarthen, 16 August 2019

"We had the most fantastic experience with the rhinos and the keeper. The keeper was very friendly, gave us lots of information and his love for the animals poured out of him. This was a special gift for my husband and son and they had the most amazing time. We would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Thank you for such a perfect experience and making some dreams come true."

Jodie Ward, Bridgend, 14 August 2019

"Fantastic experience for my 10 yr old son Garth. He has always loved rhinos so to get close up and personal with three of them totally made his year. Thank you for the opportunity."

Kirstie Pritchard, Hirwaun, 13 August 2019

"Bought as a gift, would highly recommend this experience."

Kirsty Davies, Brecon, 04 August 2019

"My son thoroughly enjoyed his feeding experience, the keeper gave an excellent talk and was well worth the money."

Stephen Williams, Neath, 03 August 2019

"Absolutely the best thing I did this Summer holidays, can’t wait to go back and do another experience."

Ethan Newman, Swansea, 01 August 2019

"It was a Christmas present for my daughter who is 11 and I was an accompanying adult. What an experience it was, I didn’t realise how close you would be allowed and the keeper was very knowledgeable. Can’t recommend the experience or the zoo enough."

Beccy Phillips, Bristol, 27 July 2019

"My daughter celebrated her 10th birthday with you and she did the giraffe and rhino experience. We did enjoy feeding the giraffes but I have to say that the rhino experience was excellent. Jack who looks after the rhinos made the session extremely informative. You could tell he loves his job and really enjoyed spending time with the animals. He is a credit to Folly Farm."

Katie Jones Pruett, Pontypridd, 14 July 2019

"My other half and I had an absolutely amazing time feeding the rhinos. Rachel the keeper was so friendly and informative. Was a perfect addition to our first time trip to South Wales. Such amazing animals so gentle and full of personality, was great fun to get to feed and pet them, will most likely come back the new baby is born."

Tim McNulty, Nottingham, 21 June 2019

"It’s not every day you get to meet a rhino, but three in one go? I’m still on cloud nine days after and cannot wait to have another experience. Jack the Keeper made my time even better, he answered any silly questions I might have had and gave a wonderful insight to his job and to the rhinos themselves. It takes a lot to really impress me and feeding and stroking three rhinos was just incredible."

Stacey West, Llandarcy, 09 June 2019

"I had the rhino experience as a Christmas present from my family and it was amazing from start to finish. Being close to these incredible animals, touching and feeding them was a real privilege. The keeper obviously loves her job and the animals and talked enthusiastically about them. I learned a lot. This is not a once in a lifetime experience as I am saving to do it again."

Susan Pinkney, Pembrokeshire, 31 May 2019

"I purchased the rhino experience for two for my boyfriend, the experience was incredible! The rhinos were amazing! It was great seeing them up close, being able to feed them and pet them, one of the rhinos even let us rub his belly! So adorable. Jack was very informative, we learnt so many interesting facts. I would definitely recommend this experience. Worth every penny!"

Jasmine V, Cardiff, 19 May 2019

"My wife bought me the rhino visit as a Christmas present and it was amazing, the keeper knew so much and was super informative, the rhinos themselves were adorable, with distinct personalities that I loved meeting and touching. I was a bit sad there was a fence in the way until Dakima charged it, then I was very glad it was there!"

Mick Green, Newport, 30 April 2019

"The experience was awesome. I really enjoyed myself I would consider doing it again and consider anyone else to take part great opportunity to get up close and touch a rhino"

Nicole Vince, Machynlleth, 21 April 2019

"Would 100% recommend to anyone looking to do the experience, will definitely remember this day! Jack was amazing answered all our questions, was very down to earth and had a lot of knowledge and passion about the animals that he cared for. After meeting Jack and the rhinos today we would definitely come back to do another rhino experience, the rhinos were very happy and well cared for."

Chelsee Williams, Port Talbot, 11 April 2019

"Wow what an amazing experience. Absolutely thrilled to get up close to the rhinos today. What gentle giants they are fantastic to learn so much about them from keeper Rachel. I won this experience as a mother’s day gift ( thank you Folly Farm) and what a fantastic way to spend the day. Will definitely be looking at booking another experience with other animals at Folly Farm."

Kathryn Saunders, Swansea, 31 March 2019

"Myself and my wife booked to do the lion and rhino experiences. It was a great day made all the better by the staff who could not do enough for us."

Nick Birtles, Cardigan, 18 March 2019

"It was superb. Keeper Jack was friendly, kind and informative. To get up close to not just one but two of these awesome animals is beyond words. Don’t think about it. Do it."

Christine Hewitt, Solihull, 24 September 2018

"Had a fantastic time I would recommend to all and have. The rhino keeper was great, thoroughly professional, knowledgeable and obviously had a great care for the animals. Put another visit on my Christmas list already."

Byron Smith, Merthyr Tydfil, 15 September 2018

"Fantastic birthday present from the children and grandchildren. The rhinos are my favourite animals at Folly Farm so meeting and feeding the two females was awesome. Jack the keeper was very knowledgeable and the tour of the rhino house and background talk was very interesting. Jack was very good in ensuring that both the animals and myself were comfortable in each others presence. Feeding carrots and branches to the two females was followed by some back scratching. To be so close to these wonderful animals and having contact with them was a privilege I will remember for many years to come. All the best with the breeding programme and I look forward to many more visits. Thanks for a great experience and day out!"

Ian White, Caerphilly, 14 September 2018

"Fantastic information and interesting too."

Gill Cook, Wales , 10 September 2018

"Had the best experience the rhinos were both really interested in taking the food from us which gave us an amazing experience. Jack the keeper was informative and we had a brilliant time, rhino feeding now up there with giraffe feeding, I can’t pick a favourite."

Cassie Farmer, Leicester, 31 August 2018

"This visitor just left a rating."

Anna Besley, Derbyshire, 29 August 2018

"What an excellent experience! Rachel and Pippa were fab hosts, so knowledgeable and keen to explain answers to every question. Maya thoroughly enjoyed her time with the rhinos. Would highly recommend to others."

Maya Le Page, Guernsey, 10 August 2018

"I was absolutely ecstatic when I received this as a gift for my 23rd birthday. I have been obsessed with rhinos for years! Never in my life did I dream of actually getting up close and personal with one let alone three! Jack the keeper was amazing and answered every question I had. He was patient and could see how much I loved spending time with these amazing animals. Each rhino had their own personality and were very gentle, you can really see the time and effort the keepers put in to making the rhinos trust them. Thank you so much Folly Farm and my sister Nia for honestly the most incredible experience of my life!"

Lowri Kemp, Cardiff, 15 July 2018

"It was one of the best experiences I have ever had. The keeper, Jack was very friendly and explained the behaviour of the rhinos, how they act and their diet and informed me of their endangered status. The rhinos themselves were brilliant with their own personalities and touching them and feeding them was something I will never forget."

Ryan Harrison, Burry Port, 30 June 2018

"My daughter, Teagan, took part in the rhino experience for her 13th birthday. She had a wonderful time learning about these critically endangered Eastern black rhinos and the keeper, Jack, was most informative and clearly passionate about the animals in his care. Teagan loved feeding Dakima and even stroked her! I would definitely recommend the rhino experience as an unusual gift to anyone!"

Sian Etheridge, Beddau, 17 June 2018

"Top notch. The animals were amazing. The fellow that did the experience, I think his name was Jack, was great. Very patient, and knowledgeable and you could tell he cared a lot about what he was doing. The other staff we interacted with on the way to get there were all super friendly and helpful as well."

Perry Jones, Canada, 09 May 2018

"What a pleasure to see your three rhinos respond and interact with Jack and, consequently, my son and myself. The long travel from British Columbia was well rewarded by this experience. Appreciation for these magnificent animals and their contribution to our world has been greatly enhanced."

Larry Jones, Canada, 09 May 2018

"An excellent day out at Folly Farm and the experience with the rhinos was just the best. Amazing to get to feed and stroke Dakima and Manyara. Nkosi only had a wave but was just as impressive. Also impressive was the way that Jack and Kim looked after them all. It was a privilege to be able to get so close to such incredible creatures. Well done Folly Farm and your amazing staff for contributing to such important conservation work."

Alison Evans, Bath Somerset, 06 May 2018

"Excellent rhino experience! The keeper was so helpful, shared so much insight into how the rhino lives, all the questions the girls had about rhinos, he was excellent. A truly memorable experience."

Sarah Hitchin, Wales , 10 April 2018

"A wonderful experience. My husband and step daughter took part in this for his birthday and both absolutely loved it! The animals are well kept and happy, their welfare is clearly everybody’s number one priority. They are free to come up to you, and leave as they wish. As it turned out all of the rhinos were more than happy to interact fully, take food from their hands and have a good old fuss. One even rolled over for his tummy scratching. The keeper, Rachel who looked after them was both friendly and knowledgable. She was especially good at encouraging our daughter to get stuck in. They weren’t rushed through, and were encouraged to take as long as they wanted. Thank you also for the teddy rhino at the end, she hasn’t put hers down since!"

Stephanie Curtis, Doncaster, 24 March 2018

"Folly Farm has been a huge part of my childhood and to now share this with younger members of the family was great. I was so excited when Folly Farm got rhinos and offered an up close experience with them. I got bought the experience for my birthday and it was amazing getting up close to such gentle giants who love a carrot! The zoo keeper's passion for his job and love of the animals came through in the discussion we had. Definitely an experience I will never forget."

Jess Thomas, Bracknell, 20 February 2018

"Absolutely amazing! Was so brilliant to touch, feed and stroke the rhinos snd it shows you how they're just like any other animal but just very large, special and endangered! I loved feeding them and them licking my hand and sitting down for scratches. The keeper with us was also so informative and was engaging and interesting! I wouldn't change anything at all about the experience. One thing that could be improved is making it more clear where the meeting point is with perhaps a sign. This was an amazing experience and we'd love to do it again."

Sophie Butcher, Wotton-Under-Edge, 19 February 2018

"Breathtaking! Such beautiful animals and wonderful to see so close and feed. The keeper was so informative and patient whilst I asked so many questions. Fabulous experience."

Suzanne Taylor, Heywood, 01 August 2017

"My son had an absolutely amazing experience hand feeding the rhinos at Folly Farm. We traveled from Essex just so he could do this. The keepers were so friendly and full of advice about these wonderful animals, it really is an experience Aaron will not forget."

Robyn Berry, Wales , 18 July 2017

Four star reviews

"We enjoyed seeing and feeding the rhinos up close and thought it was a really good experience. We also liked that the experience included a rhino teddy for each person at the end. However, we do feel that the price is a little high for a 20 minute experience.  "

Jessica Evans, Rhondda Cynon Taff, 31 October 2023

"It was very good! And I enjoyed feeding the rhinos the carrots and the hay, the keeper was very talkative and had loads of Information, which was nice."

Corrine Wardle, Wales , 15 August 2023

"It was such a delight to feed the rhinos. We were absolutely amazed by their lips! Who knew? Diolch yn fawr."

Elin Evans, Cardiff, 23 January 2022
Banner Background Image

Meet our rhinos

Go behind the scenes in our rhino house where you can get to know (and help feed) these amazing animals!

Find out more
Banner Background Image

Adopt a rhino

Love rhinos? Then why not adopt our gentle giants and help conservation efforts to save their cousins in the wild?

Tell me more
Giraffe feeding experience
Banner Background Image

Submit a review

If you've taken part in one of our animal experiences please spare a couple of minutes to tell us about it

Submit a review